ARCHIVED - 40th anniversary

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Graham Fraser

In 2009–2010, we celebrated the 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act and of the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages.

Since 1969, much has happened to ensure the equality of English and French in federal institutions and in Canadian society. Our timeline of official languages in Canada shows the boldness and ambition of this vision of linguistic duality. 

As Commissioner of Official Languages, like my predecessors, my mandate is to promote linguistic duality. My office worked with federal institutions, groups and individuals to ensure this important value takes centre stage in events celebrating the 40th anniversary of the Act across the country. A wonderful example of such collaboration is our exhibition entitled Déjà Vu: 40 Years of Language and Laughter in Political Cartoons.

I invite you to join us as we celebrate this important milestone. Today, linguistic duality is seen as an inherent part of our national identity. Thanks to the commitment and determination of the many people who believe in the importance of our official languages, we can look to the future with confidence.

Graham Fraser 

Activities and Events

Exhibition

Déjà Vu: 40 Years of Language and Laughter in Political Cartoons

Bilingualism at Air Canada, Guy Badeaux (alias Bado), 2000, Le Droit (Ottawa)

Presented in cooperation with Library and Archives Canada, this exhibition of cartoons portrays with humour and mordant irony key events and passionate political debates that have shaped our relationship with official languages since the adoption of the Official Languages Act.

The exhibition was displayed at Library and Archives Canada in Ottawa from September 2009 to March 2010 and is currently on display in the Student Lounge of the University of Ottawa’s University Centre until March 2011. A smaller version of the exhibition is still travelling across the country until November 2010.

Resources

Timeline

Our History, Our Path

The path of our official languages has known achievements of all kinds. We invite you to look back on the path we have travelled since 1969 in a timeline that traces the milestones of this exciting history.

Videos

In the Commissioners’ Own Words…

In brief excerpts from interviews, some of the commissioners of official languages over the past 40 years talk about their respective mandates, the challenges they have overcome and their successes. They recall the issues that have marked Canadian society and explain how our perspective of official languages has changed.

Posters 40th Anniversary of the Official Languages Act mini-poster

Celebrate 40 Years of Conversation

Make the most of the 40th anniversary celebrations by showing your pride in Canada’s linguistic duality! Order a large poster for your wall or a mini-poster for your bulletin board or office.

2008–2009 Annual Report 

On May 26, 2009, the Commissioner of Official Languages released his 2008–2009 annual report, in which one chapter is devoted to the 40 years of the Official Languages Act.

Symposium

40 Years of Official Languages in Canada: Our History and the Path Ahead

On September 9 and 10, 2009, a symposium on official languages was held in Ottawa. This event was organized jointly by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages, the Association for Canadian StudiesExternal site, Canadian HeritageGovernment site and the Council of the Network of Official Languages ChampionsGovernment site.

Accueil > Archives > Événements > 40e anniversaire

40e anniversaire

Graham Fraser

En 2009-2010, nous avons célébré le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles et du Commissariat aux langues officielles.

Depuis 1969, plusieurs événements ont favorisé l’égalité du français et de l’anglais dans les institutions fédérales et dans la société canadienne. Notre ligne du temps des langues officielles au Canada montre bien le caractère ambitieux de cette vision de la dualité linguistique.

En tant que commissaire aux langues officielles, comme mes prédécesseurs, mon mandat consiste à promouvoir la dualité linguistique. Le Commissariat a travaillé en collaboration avec les institutions fédérales, les groupes et les particuliers pour organiser des événements partout au Canada pour mettre à l’honneur cette importante valeur à l’occasion du 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles. D’ailleurs, de cette collaboration est née notre exposition intitulée Déjà vu : 40 ans de langue et de rire en caricatures politiques.

Aujourd’hui, la dualité linguistique est indissociable de notre identité nationale. Grâce à l’engagement et à la détermination d’un grand nombre de personnes qui croient à l’importance de nos langues officielles, l’avenir s’annonce prometteur.

Graham Fraser

Activités et événements

Bilinguisme à Air Canada, Guy Badeaux (alias Bado), 2000, Le Droit (Ottawa)
Exposition

Déjà vu : 40 ans de langue et de rire en caricatures politiques

Présentée en collaboration avec Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, cette exposition de caricatures illustre avec humour et mordant les événements marquants ainsi que les débats politiques enflammés qui ont façonné notre relation avec les langues officielles depuis l’adoption de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

L’exposition a été présentée à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada à Ottawa de septembre 2009 à mars 2010 et elle est présentée au salon étudiant du Centre universitaire de l'Université d'Ottawa jusqu'en mars 2011. De plus, une version réduite de l’exposition continue à voyager partout au pays jusqu'en novembre 2010.

Ressources

Ligne du temps

Notre histoire, notre parcours

Le parcours de nos langues officielles a été riche en rebondissements de toutes sortes. Nous vous proposons de refaire le chemin parcouru depuis 1969 dans une ligne du temps qui retrace les jalons de cette histoire passionnante.

Vidéos

Les commissaires nous racontent

Dans de courts extraits d’entrevue, certains des commissaires aux langues officielles des quarante dernières années témoignent de leurs mandats respectifs, des défis qu’ils ont surmontés et de leurs réussites. Ils se rappellent les enjeux qui ont marqué la société canadienne et nous racontent comment notre perspective des langues officielles a changé.

Affiche

Affichette sur le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officiellesCélébrons 40 ans de conversation

Profitez des célébrations du 40e anniversaire pour montrer votre fierté envers la dualité linguistique canadienne! Commandez une affiche grand format pour décorer un mur ou une affichette pour agrémenter votre babillard ou votre bureau.

Rapport annuel 2008-2009

Le 26 mai 2009, le commissaire aux langues officielles a lancé son rapport annuel 2008-2009 dans lequel un chapitre est consacré aux quarante ans de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Colloque

40 ans de langues officielles au Canada : notre histoire et l’avenir

Le 9 et le 10 septembre 2009, un colloque sur les langues officielles a eu lieu à Ottawa. Cet événement était organisé par le Commissariat aux langues officielles, l’Association des études canadiennesSite externe, Patrimoine canadienSite du gouvernement et le Conseil du Réseau des champions des langues officiellesSite du gouvernement.