Home > Archives > Events > Symposium > Publications > The Connective Power of New Technologies and the Promotion of the Official Languages

The Connective Power of New Technologies and the Promotion of the Official Languages

Pierre C. Bélanger, PhD
Communication Department
University of Ottawa

"If I am going to lead people, I have to know where they are going."
President Josiah Bartlet, The West Wing, NBC Television

Foreword

Few societies have experienced a wave of technology comparable to what has hit Canada in the last ten years of so. During this time, Canada has become one of the countries with the highest rate of cable and high-speed Internet access. The increasingly fast pace at which so-called mobile technologies are being adopted – from cell phones to Wi-Fi Internet connections, not to mention the Blackberry and a whole range of PDAs – are radically changing not our relationship with information and knowledge but also the nature, frequency and even form of our interpersonal relationships.

For the young people of today, the various technical devices that make up their daily lives are tools that they have quickly changed and adapted to the dominant uses of the moment. For a constantly growing majority of young Canadians, such conveniences as 50-channel television, high-speed Internet access, the exchange of free music files, thousands of thematic music channels provided continuously and at no charge, and reading magazines, newspapers and books on-line are now so commonplace that they have, in their eyes at least, become their birthright. We gladly pay to surf the major digital networks as long as their content remains “duty free,” they can be personalized and can be used interactively.

We often tend to overlook the fact that, over and above their impressive technical features, the new information and communications technologies (NICT) achieve their greatest impact in terms of increasing the degree of interconnection among users. Consider for example that e-mail is the activity occupying most of Internet users’ time and that the revenues generated by Canada’s major telephone companies in two weeks are equivalent to the annual revenues of movie theatres. And yet, the chorus of technological convergence insists that “Content is king!” Perhaps. Except that in reality, the explosion of chat rooms and short messaging systems (SMS) reflects young people’s tremendous attachment to technologies that provide for practically continuous networking with their social circles.

Texto: a French cyber language

In our era’s state of technological intoxication, we should not be surprised to see the emergence of a digital neo-Esperanto. Like the slang of yesteryear, texto is a new hybrid of written French that is based on highly abbreviated phonetic notations and filled with codes borrowed from English. Texto is a pragmatic illustration of the communication strategies adopted by young people in their daily use of digital media.

While the purists decry the debasing of written French encouraged by texto, others regard it as a logical evolution dictated by circumstances whereby language is adapting to the features of new technical devices. For those familiar with Internet chatting and cell phone text messages, the French used meets the conditions of spontaneity that include: 1) not being re-read; 2) a familiar tone that is very lenient with regard to rules and codes; 3) an entertaining style, in which the coining of new words or spellings and plays on words are very prominent; and, 4) an essential social function whereby membership in a peer group is reinforced by the use of common codes, which are often very obscure. For Internet chatters, French is regarded above all as a tool for oral communication even though, paradoxically, it is confined to the keyboard and the screen. Driven by speed, the desire to take part in a number of exchanges at the same time and sometimes also the limited space available, such as the 160 characters available on cell phone screens, it is only natural that a cyber language should develop outside the rules and conventions of the otherwise traditional standards of language, since it is a variant adapted to a specific environment. Does that mean that technologies are conducive to the creation of their own lexical and syntactic ecosystem? It would appear so.

In French Canada, as in France, the French language is highly susceptible to the Anglicisms flooding the new digital platforms. Like emoticons, internationally recognized graphic symbols used in electronic messaging to express emotions, many Anglo-Saxon acronyms are gradually taking their place in the cyber lexicon. For example, users type “WAN2TLK” (want to talk?) at the start of a conversation to confirm that the other person is available; after that the usual introductions begin with “ASL”, referring to age, sex and “living”, or where the person lives. One might type “JK” after an inappropriate remark (just kidding), and sign off with “TTYL” (talk to you later) or “CU” (see you).

It should be noted in passing that, in spite of the customary use of Anglicisms in cyber language, this tendency to shorten words is not unique to users of NICTs. The advent of the telegram led to a style of writing that is similar in a number of respects. The short announcements published in major dailies also use their own codes. In the real estate business, records describing properties for sale also require some initiation. In short, what is happening with the new digital language is not unique. It is a specific form of written expression, deriving from the mega communication channels that have been established and whose benefits in managing interpersonal relationships are gradually emerging. While these channels foster contact among individuals from all over the world, they also give rise to new standard procedures that in various ways tend to reflect the same lingua franca, English, that is used for the distribution and consumption of entertainment and information products available on these channels.

Interconnectivity

If there is one thing about NICTs that the majority of observers and researchers agree upon, it is the degree to which they have become part of the daily lives of most young people. The statistics leave no doubt. North American studies show that 61% of young people between the ages of 8 and 17 have a television in their bedroom. Over half of the young people surveyed (57%) surf the Internet using a computer in their bedroom. Add a telephone to this list, and the traditional parental reprimand, “go think about it in your room,” takes on a whole new meaning!

As strong evidence of young people’s great propensity to use technologies that satisfy their need to maintain contact with their friends, the new cyber forum Friendsters.com has started with a bang. Launched in March as a pilot, this site already has over 2 million subscribers, primarily young Americans at present. Unlike other sites for meeting people, Friendsters is based on a molecular structure, that is, users only meet friends of friends, thereby limiting their network of cyber contacts to those participants with whom they already have some connection, however tenuous. Like a giant virtual address book, this social site demonstrates the connective power of new technologies.

In a country like Canada that includes many languages, cultures and ethnic groups, the launch of a national Friendsters site, in order to stimulate discussion and networking in either official language, could really appeal to young users of NICTs. Girls especially, and high school girls, who are twice as likely as boys of their age to cite socializing as their favourite feature of the Internet. For the boys, on the other hand, the Internet is used for recreation and entertainment purposes, two things that are hardly incompatible with social sites such as Friendsters. Moreover, since each new participant is already part of his or her sponsor’s network of friends, the risk usually associated with meeting people over the Internet is thus significantly reduced.

Future development

In considering the potential of NICTs, it would be ill advised to ignore all the concerns about the consumerist view of users. This view is promoted by the consumption of ordinary and standard products that are marketed with lots of advertising by communication conglomerates. The recent tidal wave of “reality shows” around the world is a striking example of a new kind of television without borders: even the format is sold and adapted to a multitude of local markets. It is not surprising that with such homogenization of television content, local artists are rising up and demanding a production industry that reflects their local values and heritage.

In the world of new media and digital content, the issues are equally pressing. Given the significant amount of time young people spend using new technologies, it is essential that the content they consume provide as many opportunities as possible to help them better understand the world they live in and in turn gain a better appreciation of the latest major issues. Even though they have access to millions of Web sites, young people do not really know what to make of this mass of information. It is quite likely that this tremendous redundancy of information does not enlighten but rather confuses young people, who are ill prepared to make objective and informed choices from among what the media have to offer.

There is no doubt that the advent of digital technologies was a shock to the media world in Canada. It has brought an explosion of specialized television channels, personalized and ubiquitous telephone services, distance education, downloading of content from the Web, video on demand, teleshopping, etc. In short, an impressive array of services and content of all kinds, the vast majority of which are owned by corporations that are of course motivated by profit and seek the broadest influence possible.

Unlike traditional media such as television, the print media and film, a number of new digital media allow for asynchronous use, making it possible for users to create their own personal listening packages. Similarly, the compressibility of digital information greatly facilitates the storing of media content, in turn opening the door to a variety of uses that were heretofore unimaginable, as some people might wish to store and give new life to material regarded as a having some heritage value, in the broadest sense of the word.

Citizen zones

Cyberspace does not have to be colonized by private interests. On the contrary. With the collapse of the business model initially intended for the Web and the gradual but steady rise in user-pay content, public institutions now have an opportunity to express their difference and thereby contribute directly to the development of zones and content that cultivate a civic spirit and diversity rather than perpetuating the reductionism of “one world, one voice.”

At a time of tremendous technological change, public services face a great challenge. They must not only anticipate the next waves of technology in order to gain a clearer picture of the future. In my opinion, the fundamental issue is instead what the future should look like and what role government can plan in achieving that ideal. With a mission involving both youth and new technologies, there is every reason to think big and bold since these two elements are essential to changing the current order of things for the better.

Renowned British communications researcher, Sonia Livingstone, from the London School of Economics, reported a few weeks ago on the results of her major study of young people and their use of new technologies. One of her key recommendations encourages the development of on-line environments specifically designed for young people where they can learn to make “intelligent” and creative use of the Internet and its derivatives. There are already some Canadian initiatives serving this purpose.

The Canadian Culture Online project, sponsored by Canadian Heritage, is without a doubt one of the best examples of government providing educational and socially significant online content that highlights the main turning points in our country’s recent history. CBC/Radio-Canada, a partner in this project, has developed two mirror sites, one in each official language, providing access to a hundred or so files. The noteworthy thing about the CBC/Radio Canada project is not so much that archival exhibits were created in each official language about Robert Bourassa, the flooding in the Saguenay or Wayne Gretsky’s career, but instead that they contain references to the files produced in the other language. This kind of cross-promotion would be difficult to achieve in the traditional media in view of the constraints of serving target markets, not to mention the pitfalls of Canadian communications regulations. But on the Web, a medium with an open and tree-shaped structure, no path is forbidden and no content quotas are imposed.

Public services must strive to imagine scenarios that will allow young Canadians to use new technologies to access local content. Content that is germane to their interests and concerns and produced in one of our country’s official languages. Thematic digital counters could be created, for example, based on partnerships between the public and private sectors. These bilingual digital counters would invite young people to discover and become familiar with the best that Canadian producers have to offer in information and entertainment, in both English and French. Becoming familiar with and learning to appreciate media products from the other culture is already a decisive step in developing an interest in acquiring the language skills in order to delve more deeply into that culture.

The revolution brought about by the new technologies is much more than the digital revolution, the information revolution, the Internet revolution or the telecommunications revolution. It is more specifically a revolution of social interaction that these new technical devices have now raised to a higher level. In this sense, it must not be left solely to the manufacturers, digital network service providers and private media conglomerates to decide how the knowledge society is being and will be developed. Public services must play a leading role with respect to awareness, encouragement, support and promotion of the key issues relating to the current changes in technology. At the heart of these concerns is the training of critical and responsible users who are aware of the potential repercussions of NICTs on the common good.

There is no doubt that these new tools and digital screens are fully compatible with the promotion of languages and culture. In a number of ways, they are in fact the very cornerstone. And young people quickly capitalize on their connective powers. We must therefore now define their parameters and invent forms in cooperation with young people and the partners who chose to contribute to this plan to shape society.

The views expressed in this document are those of the author.

Accueil > Archives > Événements > Symposium > Publications > Le caractère connectif des nouvelles technologies et la promotion des langues officielles

Le caractère connectif des nouvelles technologies et la promotion des langues officielles

Pierre C. Bélanger, Ph.D
Département de Communication
Université d’Ottawa

« Je dois savoir où les gens vont si je dois les y diriger. »
Président Josiah Bartlet, The West Wing, réseau de télévision NBC.

Liminaire

Peu de sociétés auront connu un déferlement technologique d’une ampleur comparable à celle que connaît le Canada depuis une dizaine d’années. Au cours de cette période, le Canada s’est hissé dans le peloton de tête des pays avec les taux les plus élevés de branchement au câble et à l’Internet haute-vitesse. L’accélération marquée de l’adoption des technologies dites mobiles- du cellulaire au branchement d’Internet aux réseaux Wi-Fi en passant par les Blackberry et la panoplie d’assistants numériques personnels- vient bousculer radicalement non seulement nos rapports à l’information et au savoir mais également la nature, la fréquence et même la forme de nos liens interpersonnels.

Pour la jeunesse d’aujourd’hui, les divers dispositifs techniques dont est composé son univers quotidien constituent autant de biens acquis qu’elle a tôt fait de moduler et d’infléchir selon les usages dominants du moment. Pour une majorité sans cesse croissante de jeunes canadiens, une télévision à 50 chaînes, l’Internet à haute-vitesse, l’échange de fichiers musicaux gratuits, des milliers de chaînes musicales thématiques diffusées sans frais en continu, la consultation en ligne de magazines, de quotidiens et de livres, etc., sont à ce point banalisés qu’il sont en passe de faire partie, à leurs yeux du moins, de leurs droits de naissance fondamentaux. On accepte volontiers de payer pour circuler sur les grands circuits numériques dans la mesure où les contenus demeurent « hors-taxes », soient personnalisables et que l’on puisse tirer profit de leurs potentialités interactives.

On a souvent tendance à négliger le fait qu’au-delà de leurs impressionnantes fonctionnalités techniques, c’est d’abord sur le plan de l’accroissement du niveau d’interconnectivité parmi les usagers que les nouvelles technologies d’information et de communication (NTIC) exercent leur plus grand impact. À preuve : l’échange de courriels continue de demeurer l’activité à laquelle les usagers d’Internet accordent le plus de temps; les principales compagnies de téléphone canadiennes récoltent en revenus toutes les deux semaines l’équivalent des recettes annuelles des salles de cinéma. Et pourtant, les chantres de la convergence technologique persistent à clamer que « Content is king! ». Peut être bien. Sauf que, sur le terrain, l’explosion des bavardoirs (chat room) et des « smsistes » (Short Messaging System) témoigne de la profonde affection des jeunes envers les technologies qui facilitent un maillage quasi-permanent de leurs réseaux sociaux.

Le texto : C kwa sa?

Dans l’ébriété technologique qui caractérise notre époque, on ne s’étonnera pas de voir émerger un néo-espéranto à saveur numérique: le texto. Comme le verlan d’hier ou l’argot et le joual de jadis, le texto constitue une nouvelle variété hybride du français écrit dont l’essence repose sur une écriture phonétique fortement abrégée et infiltrée de codes empruntés à l’anglais. Le texto est une illustration pragmatique des stratégies communicationnelles mises en place par les jeunes au cours de leur appropriation quotidienne des médias numériques.

Alors que les puristes dénoncent la dégradation du français écrit que promeut le mode texto, d’autres y voient plutôt une évolution logique et circonstancielle de la langue qui s’adapte aux propriétés des nouveaux dispositifs technologiques. Pour les adeptes du clavardage, les « tchatteurs », et des communications textuelles sur téléphones portables, les « smsistes », le français que l’on y écrit répond à des conditions d’usage spontanées qui sont particularisées par 1) une non-relecture; 2) un ton familier singulièrement permissif sur le plan des règles et des codes; 3) un caractère ludique où règne la néographie et les jeux de mots; et, 4) une fonction foncièrement socialisante où l’appartenance à un groupe pair est renforcée par l’usage de codes communs, bien souvent hermétiques. Pour les « tchatteurs » du cyberespace, le français est d’abord pensé comme un outil de communication oral, même si, paradoxalement, son espace vital est circonscrit entre le clavier et l’écran. Bousculé par la vitesse, par la volonté de participer à plusieurs échanges simultanément et parfois aussi, par l’étroitesse de l’espace disponible, comme dans le cas des 160 caractères des écrans de téléphones portables, il est normal que le cyberlangage se développe en marge des règles et des conventions de ce qui est autrement appelé les normes langagières puisqu’il en est une variante qui s’est adaptée à un environnement spécifique. Est-ce à dire que les technologies favoriseraient la création de leur propre éco-système lexical et syntaxique? Il semble que cela soit le cas.

Au Canada français, comme du reste en France, on fait grand état de la perméabilité de la langue française à l’égard des anglicismes qui circulent abondamment sur les nouvelles plate-formes numériques. À l’instar des émoticons, ces sigles graphiques à résonance internationale que les usagers des messageries électroniques utilisent pour exprimer leurs émotions, de nombreux acronymes anglo-saxons s’infiltrent peu à peu au sein du cyberlexique. Ainsi, à titre d’exemple, on tapera un « WAN2TLK » (want to talk?) en début de conversation pour vérifier la disponibilité de l’interlocuteur après quoi les présentations d’usage seront initiées par un « ASL », correspondant à l’âge, sexe et « living », pour identifier le lieu de résidence. On qualifiera un commentaire inapproprié par un « JK » (just kidding) et l’on signalera notre départ par un « TTYL » (talk to you later) ou encore un « CU » (see you).

On remarquera au passage que, nonobstant l’utilisation coutumière d’anglicismes dans le cyberlangage, cette tendance à tronquer les mots n’est pas un phénomène propre aux seuls usagers des NTIC. L’avènement du télégramme avait engendré une forme d’écriture à plusieurs égards semblables. Les petites annonces que l’on publie dans les grands quotidiens procèdent également selon des codes qui leur sont propres. Dans le secteur immobilier, les fiches descriptives des propriétés à vendre requièrent elles aussi, une certaine initiation. On constate ainsi que ce qui est en train de se développer avec le néolangage numérique n’a en soit, rien d’unique. Il s’agirait ici d’une forme particulière d’expression écrite, tributaire des méga-circuits de communication qui ont été installés et dont on découvre graduellement les avantages sur le plan de la gestion des rapports interpersonnels. Car si ces circuits facilitent la mise en contact d’individus à partir des quatre coins du monde, ils donnent également lieu à l’adoption de procédures normatives qui ont tendance à refléter, à différents niveaux, la même lingua franca, l’anglais, que celle dans laquelle s’effectuent la distribution et la consommation des produits de divertissement et d’information qui y circulent.

L’interconnectivité

S’il est un aspect des NTIC sur lequel s’entend une majorité d’observateurs et de chercheurs, c’est bien le degré avec lequel elles sont parvenues à faire partie des pratiques quotidiennes d’une majorité de jeunes. Les statistiques sont éloquentes. Des études nord-américaines indiquent que 61% des jeunes, âgés entre 8 et 17 ans, possèdent un téléviseur dans leur chambre. Pour plus de la moitié des jeunes interrogés (57%), la navigation sur Internet se ferait à partir d’un ordinateur situé dans leur chambre. Ajoutez le téléphone à ce repère, et la traditionnelle semonce parentale du « Va réfléchir dans ta chambre » acquiert alors une toute autre connotation!

Confirmant en cela la très forte propension des jeunes envers l’usage de technologies qui assouvissent leurs besoins de maintenir le contact avec leurs copains-copines, la mise en ligne récente du cyber-carrefour de rencontres Friendsters.com connaît un départ fulgurant. Lancé en mars dernier en version test, ce site compte déjà plus de 2 millions d’abonnés, essentiellement des jeunes Américains pour l’heure. A la différence des autres sites de rencontre, Friendsters fonctionne selon une architecture moléculaire, c’est-à-dire qu’on ne lie connaissance qu’avec les amis de nos amis, limitant du coup notre réseau de cyber-contacts aux seuls participants avec qui nous avons déjà un lien, aussi ténu soit-il. Sorte de méga carnet d’adresses virtuel, ce type de logiciel à caractère social démontre à quel point les fonctions connectives des nouvelles technologies sont porteuses.

Dans un pays comme le Canada où cohabitent de nombreuses langues, cultures et ethnies, la mise sur pied d’un Friendsters national, conçu à partir d’une volonté de stimuler les échanges et le réseautage dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles, est susceptible d’atteindre l’une des cordes sensibles des jeunes adeptes des NTIC. En particulier chez les filles, et celles du secondaire, qui sont deux fois plus nombreuses que les garçons de cet âge à identifier la socialisation comme étant la propriété d’Internet qu’elles apprécient le plus. Pour ces derniers, Internet sera plutôt associé à des facteurs liés au loisir et au divertissement, deux catégories qui, au demeurant, ne sont pas du tout incompatibles avec les logiciels sociaux tels que Friendsters. Par ailleurs, dans la mesure où chaque nouveau participant fait déjà partie du réseau d’amis de son commanditaire, une partie importante des risques généralement associés aux cyber-rencontres se trouve ainsi amenuisée.

Perspectives de développement

Il serait mal avisé d’évacuer de la réflexion sur le potentiel des NTIC, l’ensemble des récriminations entourant la vision consumériste de l’usager. Cette conception est alimentée par la consommation de produits banalisés et standardisés qui sont mis en marché, à grand renfort de publicités, par les conglomérats de communication. Le récent tsunami des « télé-réalités » à dans le monde, constitue un exemple probant d’un nouveau genre de télévision sans frontières, où un même format est vendu et adapté à une multitude de marchés locaux. Pas étonnant que devant un tel aplanissement des contenus télévisuels, les artisans locaux s’élèvent et revendiquent une industrie de la production qui reflète les valeurs et le patrimoine d’ici.

Dans le domaine des nouveaux médias et des contenus numériques, les enjeux sont tout aussi pressants. En raison de l’important investissement de temps qu’accordent les jeunes à des activités liées à l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies, il est impératif de voir à leur fournir un maximum d’occasions pour que ce qu’ils y consomment leur permettre de mieux comprendre l’environnement dans lequel ils vivent et ainsi mieux saisir l’essence des grands débats qui s’y tiennent. Car même s’ils ont accès à des millions de sites Web, les jeunes ne savent trop ni que faire ni quoi penser de ce magma d’information. Il y a fort à parier que cette abondance de redondance, loin d’éclairer, réussit plus souvent à confondre le jeune, peu équipé qu’il est pour faire un tri objectif et informé entre ce que les médias lui présentent.

Certes, l’arrivée des techniques numériques aura provoqué des secousses importantes sur le paysage médiatique canadien. On n’a qu’à penser à l’explosion des chaînes de télé spécialisées, aux services de communication téléphoniques personnalisés et ubiquistes, à l’éducation à distance, au téléchargement de contenus sur le Web, à la vidéo à la demande, au télé-magasinage, etc. Bref, un éventail impressionnant de services et de contenus de tout acabit dont la très grande majorité appartient à des intérêts corporatistes motivés, il va de soi, à rentabiliser l’opération et à rayonner le plus largement possible.

A la différence des médias traditionnels tels que la radio, la télévision, la presse et le cinéma, plusieurs des nouveaux supports numériques permettent des usages asynchrones et offrent à l’utilisateur la possibilité de se confectionner une palette d’écoute personnalisée. De même, grâce aux capacités de compression du numérique, le stockage de contenus médiatiques est grandement facilité, ce qui ouvre à des usages d’une variété jusqu’ici inimaginable pour peu que l’on souhaite conserver et redonner vie à du matériel considéré comme ayant une certaine valeur patrimoniale, au sens le plus large du terme.

Des zones citoyennes

Le cyberespace n’a pas à être colonisé que par des intérêts privés. Tout au contraire. Devant l’effondrement du modèle d’affaires initialement envisagé pour le Web et la montée graduelle mais constante des contenus à péage, les institutions publiques se voient offrir l’occasion d’afficher leur différence et d’ainsi participer directement à la mise en valeur de zones et de contenus qui cultivent l’esprit citoyen et les altérités plutôt d’entretenir le mythe réductionniste du « One world, one voice ».

Dans un contexte de forte mouvance technologique, le défi des services publics est de taille. Car il ne s’agit pas seulement d’anticiper les prochaines vagues technologiques pour mieux comprendre comment sera l’avenir. A mon avis, la question fondamentale est plutôt de savoir ce que l’avenir devrait être et quel rôle l’État peut jouer dans l’atteinte de cet idéal. Quand la mission implique le tandem jeunesse et nouvelles technologies, il est justifié de penser grand et en couleurs car nous avons là deux des éléments essentiels pour infléchir l’ordre actuel des choses pour le mieux.

La réputée chercheure britannique en communication, Sonia Livingstone, du London School of Economics, rapportait il y a quelques semaines, les résultats d’une importante recherche qu’elle a menée auprès des jeunes où elle s’est intéressée aux usages qu’ils font des nouvelles technologies. L’une de ses principales recommandations encourage le déploiement d’environnements en ligne spécifiquement conçus pour les jeunes où on leur apprendrait à se servir « intelligemment » et de manière créative d’Internet et de ses dérivés. Déjà, certaines initiatives canadiennes répondent à cet appel.

Le projet de Culture Canada en ligne, parrainé par Patrimoine canadien, est certes l’un des meilleurs exemples de l’implication du gouvernement dans la mise en ligne de contenus édifiants, socialement significatifs et qui mettent en lumière les principaux moments de la récente histoire du pays. Partenaire de ce projet, la CBC/Radio-Canada a développé deux sites miroirs, un pour chacune des deux langues officielles, qui donnent accès à une centaine de dossiers différents. Ce qui est notable dans le projet de la CBC/Radio-Canada, ce n’est pas tant que Robert Bourassa, les inondations du Saguenay ou la carrière de Wayne Gretsky aient donné lieu à des montages d’archives dans chacune des deux langues mais bien, et surtout, les renvois aux dossiers produits dans l’autre langue que l’on y fait. Une promotion-croisée de cette nature serait difficilement concevable dans les médias traditionnels, contraints à desservir leur marché-cible, sans compter les écueils de la réglementation canadienne en matière de communication. Mais sur le Web, un médium à architecture ouverte et arborescente, aucun parcours n’est proscrit, aucun quota de contenus n’est imposé.

Les services publics doivent s’investir à imaginer des scénarios grâce auxquels les jeunes Canadiens utiliseront les nouvelles technologies pour avoir accès à des contenus d’ici. Des contenus qui ont une résonance manifeste avec leurs centres d’intérêt et leurs préoccupations et qui sont produits dans l’une ou l’autre des deux langues officielles du pays. Nous pouvons imaginer la création de comptoirs numériques thématiques, qui seraient constitués de partenariats entre les secteurs privé et public. Ces comptoirs numériques bilingues serviraient de lieu où les jeunes seraient invités à découvrir et à se familiariser avec le meilleur de ce que les producteurs canadiens réalisent en information et en divertissement, tant en langue anglaise que française. Apprendre à connaître et à apprécier les artefacts médiatiques de l’autre culture constitue déjà en soit un jalon déterminant dans la volonté d’acquérir des compétences langagières pour s’en rapprocher et en intégrer des aspects.

La révolution qu’amènent les nouvelles technologies est beaucoup plus que la révolution numérique, la révolution informatique, la révolution Internet ou encore des télécommunications. Il s’agit plus exactement d’une révolution des interactions sociales que ces nouveaux dispositifs techniques élèvent désormais à un autre niveau. À cet effet, il est capital que les équipementiers, fournisseurs de branchement aux divers réseaux numériques et conglomérats médiatiques privés ne soient laissés seuls à décider de comment est, et se fera le développement de la société du savoir. Les services publics ont la responsabilité d’agir comme fer de lance dans la sensibilisation, l’encouragement, l’appui et la promotion des grands enjeux liés aux mutations technologiques actuelles. Au cœur de ces préoccupations, se retrouve celle de la formation d’usagers critiques, responsables et conscients des retombées que peuvent avoir les NTIC pour le bien commun.

Nul doute que ces nouveaux outils et écrans numériques sont tout à fait compatibles avec la promotion des langues et des cultures. Ils en constituent même, à plusieurs égards, la pierre d’assise. Et les jeunes auront tôt fait d’en exploiter les dimensions connectives. Il nous incombe donc aujourd’hui d’en définir les paramètres et d’en inventer les formes en collaboration avec les jeunes ainsi que les partenaires qui choisiront de participer à l’édification de ce projet de société.

Les opinions exprimées dans ce document sont celles de l'auteur.