Home > Archives > News Releases > News Releases (2009) > Ottawa, May 26, 2009

Ottawa, May 26, 2009

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

After 40 years, the government needs to carry the flame of linguistic duality, says Graham Fraser

Backgrounder: Facts about Official Languages
Backgrounder: Report Cards 2008–2009
2008–2009 Annual Report of the Commissioner of Official Languages
Recommendations

Canada has come a long way in 40 years, but has still not lived up to the expectations expressed in the Official Languages Act, according to Graham Fraser. “Despite four decades of work and some undeniable successes, Canada has not taken full advantage of its bilingualism,” said the Commissioner of Official Languages, who this morning presented his annual report marking the 40th anniversary of the Act.

According to Mr. Fraser, “the 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act is a perfect opportunity for the federal government and its institutions to showcase Canada’s linguistic duality. They must demonstrate, through concrete measures, that English and French are and will continue to occupy an equal place in Canada.”

Canada’s linguistic duality will soon be the object of international attention. Mr. Fraser has expressed concern regarding the ability of the Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games (VANOC) and the many participating federal institutions to fulfill their commitment to providing services and communications in English and French.

“Canada will only be able to welcome athletes and visitors in the country’s and the International Olympic Committee’s two official languages if the federal government demonstrates exemplary leadership and commitment on this issue, said the Commissioner. To fulfill this objective, VANOC and the federal institutions involved in organizing the Games will have to work closely with one another and with the Francophone communities from British Columbia and elsewhere in the country. The 2010 Games are the perfect opportunity for Canada to show the world its success and pride as a bilingual country.”

In a larger perspective, the Commissioner also recommended that the government resist the temptation to slash official languages budgets. “A dynamic vision of linguistic duality that is based on respect, dialogue and partnership can only develop if the government shows an ongoing commitment, despite the current economic challenges,” he stated.

“There is a lack of links and coherence in Canada’s language policy, noted the Commissioner. The Canadian government has too often ignored the fact that the health of Canada’s language regime depends on the health of all its components. A weakening of leadership from federal institutions in one area of linguistic duality is all it takes for problems to surface in all areas.”

Graham Fraser recommends, among other things, that a true second-language learning continuum be established, from elementary school to university. The Commissioner expressed his disappointment by stating that “post-secondary institutions very seldom provide students with opportunities to continue studying in their second language, despite the fact that we encourage them to take the bilingual path throughout their academic career.” In addition to allowing Canadians to take full advantage of their county’s linguistic duality, such a continuum would expand the pool of bilingual workers for the country’s employers, including the federal public service.

The involvement of public service managers is necessary in order to resolve certain problems that persist with regard to bilingual service delivery and the workplace, according to Graham Fraser. “Federal institutions often fail to use a bilingual greeting to show that services are available in both languages. Also, we are too quick to settle on providing the linguistic minority with a translated version of the services provided to the majority,” he noted.

Graham Fraser, a former journalist for both English-language and French-language publications, is in the third year of his seven-year term as Commissioner of Official Languages.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Robin Cantin
Manager, Media Relations
Telephone: 613-995-0374
Cellular: 613-324-0999
Toll-free: 1-877-996-6368

Accueil > Archives > Communiqués > Communiqués (2009) > Ottawa, le 26 mai 2009

Ottawa, le 26 mai 2009

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Après 40 ans, le gouvernement doit porter le flambeau de la dualité linguistique, dit Graham Fraser

Fiche d’information : Faits saillants sur les langues officielles
Fiche d’information : Bulletin de rendement 2008-2009
Rapport annuel 2008-2009 du commissaire aux langues officielles
Recommandations

Le Canada a parcouru beaucoup de chemin depuis 40 ans, mais n’a pas encore atteint les attentes exprimées dans la Loi sur les langues officielles, selon Graham Fraser. « Malgré quatre décennies de travail et certains succès indéniables, le Canada n’a pas su tirer pleinement avantage de son bilinguisme », a affirmé le commissaire aux langues officielles, qui présentait ce matin son rapport annuel marquant le 40e anniversaire de la Loi.

« Le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles est une occasion idéale pour le gouvernement fédéral et ses institutions de mettre en valeur la dualité linguistique canadienne, selon M. Fraser. Il leur faut montrer par des mesures concrètes qu’au Canada, le français et l’anglais occupent et continueront d’occuper une place égale. »

La dualité linguistique canadienne fera bientôt l’objet d’une attention internationale. M. Fraser s’est dit inquiet de la capacité du Comité organisateur des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2010 (COVAN) et des nombreuses institutions fédérales participantes à respecter leurs engagements à l’égard des services et des communications en anglais et en français.

« Le Canada réussira à accueillir les athlètes et les visiteurs dans les deux langues officielles du pays et du Comité international olympique seulement si le gouvernement fédéral fait preuve de leadership et d’engagement exemplaires dans ce dossier, indique le commissaire. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le COVAN et les institutions fédérales qui participent à l’organisation des Jeux devront collaborer étroitement, de même qu’avec les communautés francophones de la Colombie-Britannique et d’ailleurs au pays. Les jeux de 2010 sont une occasion en or pour le Canada de montrer au monde entier sa réussite et sa fierté en tant que pays bilingue. »

Dans une perspective plus large, le commissaire a aussi recommandé au gouvernement de résister à la tentation de sabrer les budgets de langues officielles. « Une vision dynamique de la dualité linguistique basée sur le respect, le dialogue et le partenariat ne peut se développer que si le gouvernement fait preuve d’un engagement continu, malgré les défis économiques de l’heure », a-t-il affirmé.

« Il existe un manque de liens et de cohérence dans la politique linguistique canadienne, a souligné le commissaire. Le gouvernement canadien a trop souvent négligé le fait que la santé du régime linguistique canadien dépend de celle de toutes ses composantes. Il suffit que le leadership des institutions fédérales s’affaiblisse dans un secteur de la dualité linguistique pour que des problèmes surgissent sur tous les plans. »

Graham Fraser recommande notamment que s’établisse un véritable continuum d’apprentissage de la langue seconde, de l’école primaire à l’université. « Les établissements postsecondaires offrent très rarement à leurs étudiants des occasions de poursuivre leurs études dans leur langue seconde, et ce, malgré qu’on les encourage à prendre la route du bilinguisme tout au long de leur cheminement scolaire, » déplore le commissaire. En plus de permettre aux Canadiens de profiter pleinement de la dualité linguistique de leur pays, un tel continuum augmenterait le bassin de personnel bilingue pour les employeurs du pays, dont la fonction publique fédérale.

La participation des gestionnaires de la fonction publique est nécessaire pour régler certains problèmes qui subsistent dans l’offre de services bilingues et dans le milieu de travail, selon Graham Fraser. « Il arrive fréquemment que les institutions fédérales négligent d’indiquer par un accueil bilingue que les services sont disponibles dans les deux langues. De plus, on se contente trop souvent d’offrir à la minorité linguistique une version traduite des services offerts à la majorité, » a-t-il souligné.

Graham Fraser, ancien journaliste pour des publications de langues française et anglaise, en est à la troisième année de son mandat de sept ans comme commissaire aux langues officielles.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Robin Cantin
Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias
Téléphone : 613-995-0374
Téléphone cellulaire : 613-324-0999
Sans frais : 1-877-996-6368