9. Anglophone Priorities and Concerns

Page 13 of 16

Summary:

While health and social services are ranked highest among Anglophones in terms of importance to the community, the most frequently cited single problem is equality of rights. The representation of Quebec Anglophones in the provincial public service contributes to an important sense of disempowerment among the community. A majority of Anglophones do not believe that they have equal chances of securing employment with government. Both federal and provincial governments recognize this situation and add that efforts are being made to recruit and retain more Anglophones.

Relations between Quebec Anglophones and Francophones have improved over the course of the 1990s. Friendship and marriages between members of the two principal language communities have been on the rise. Yet there remain important differences in the extent to which Anglophones and Francophones respectively believe that the future of their communities is threatened.


Questions on whether leadership is effective in addressing community needs are connected to what the group regards as its main interests and priorities. The issues that communities deem important will evolve based on changing social, economic and political circumstances. During a referendum campaign, national unity may be regarded as the priority for the vast majority of Quebec Anglophones. So the timing in which the concerns of the population are assessed is an important consideration. Various government and non-governmental actors can play a crucial role in shaping the needs of the population and determining priorities. Effective leadership must demonstrate an ability to adapt to changing concerns of its constituents. Further related to this is the question of how organizational leadership defines its constituency.

It has been amply demonstrated that demographic changes have had a significant impact on the structures and institutions of the Anglophone population. In the absence of research on the historic priorities and concerns of Anglophones, it is more difficult to ascertain whether the trends described here have influenced such matters. On what basis are the differences of opinion among Anglophones most pronounced? These are issues that have been much debated over the years both within and outside Quebec’s Anglophone community.

In attempting to provide insight into how Quebec Anglophones prioritize their concerns, the CROP-Missisquoi Institute survey asked respondents to rate the degree of importance of issues to the Anglophone community and then to identify the most important issue. There is an obvious relationship between the two as reflected in the themes repeatedly evoked by Quebec Anglophones. However, the distinction permits an understanding of how strongly felt the concerns are, and the extent to which certain issues are a catalyst for mobilization. Overall, health and social services issues were ranked as extremely or very important by the highest percentage of Anglophone respondents. Yet health and social services were not considered the most important issue facing the Anglophone community. Generally, it is the social issues or what might be described as more immediate needs that rank highest when Anglophones are asked to rate importance. When it comes to asking about the single most important issue, however, the political/identity questions appear to come to mind more frequently.


Table 22 – “Extremely” or “Very Important” Responses Regarding the Importance of Selected Language Issues, by Selected Demographic Groups within the Quebec Anglophone Population
  Health and social services (%) Access to government services (%) Language of signs (%) Decrease in Anglophone community (%)
Total 80 70 54 51
Age 18-24 81 73 49 46
Age 65+ 79 66 59 57
French conversation – yes 85
76 57 61
No French 81 67 57 57
No high school 77 61 62 54
University degree 89 77 53 62
Male 82 71 53 56
Female 86 76 60 62
Source: CROP-Missisquoi Institute, Survey of the English-Speaking Community of Quebec, 2000.

With 54 percent of Anglophones believing that the language of signs is an important issue, it ranks well behind health and social services. There appears no single issue that a majority of Quebec Anglophone consider the most important. However, the largest plurality contend that equal rights is the single most important issue facing the community. There does not appear to be much difference of opinion based on age, gender, education and bilingualism.

A. Inclusion and Disempowerment

Seeing members of one’s group reflected in government institutions and decision-making bodies is a critical issue for minority groups. Both the federal and Quebec provincial governments have acknowledged the need to address issues of representation of Quebec Anglophones in their respective public services. For its part, the Quebec government has produced a series of reports over the course of the 1990s lamenting its failure to increase the underrepresentation of Anglophones in the province’s public service. Despite provisions in the Quebec Charter of Rights that make it obligatory for there to be employment equity programs for minority groups in the public service and in spite of hiring quotas, the share of mother-tongue Anglophones in the Quebec public service has dropped from 485 employees (or 0.83 percent) to 394 employees (or 0.7 percent) out of 57,468 in 2002 (Government of Quebec, Conseil du Trésor, March 2002).

According to the Treasury Board Secretariat of the Government of Canada, as of March 2003, Anglophones made up 72 percent of public service employees and Francophones made up 27 percent. Their corresponding share of the Canadian population is 75 percent and 24 percent, respectively. Outside the National Capital Region, 14.5 percent of all federal employees in Quebec were Anglophones, whereas Anglophones constitute 12.9 percent of the population in Quebec. Anglophone federal public servants in federal departments represent 7.6 percent (excluding the National Capital Region). The Treasury Board recognizes this situation and adds that efforts are being made to recruit and retain more Anglophones.

While there has been no systematic study of federal and provincial government appointments of Quebec, any examination of the list of such Quebec government appointments over the past two decades will illustrate the relative rarity of nominations of Anglophones. Limited input into government decision making on the part of Anglophones is a significant contributing factor to feelings of disempowerment.

Efforts to increase Anglophone representation in the provincial public service need to consider the important number of Anglophones who believe they do not have equal access to such jobs. Across all demographic groups, an important share of Anglophones believe that federal and provincial governments do not provide equal opportunities for employment. Overall, some 54 percent of Anglophones surveyed in 2000 (CROP-Missisquoi Institute, 2000) do not believe that the Government of Canada in Quebec provides equal access to jobs for Anglophones, and approximately 70 percent believe that similar inequity exists in the Quebec provincial government. Perceptions of such discrimination are somewhat higher among those Anglophones with university degrees and those employed full time.

Quebec Anglophones are not uninterested in being employed by government. The survey reveals that while interest in such opportunities is greater federally than provincially, it nonetheless remains reasonably high at both levels of government. Nearly half of respondents said they either have or would be interested in seeking a job with the Government of Canada, and 40 percent expressed similar interest with respect to employment with the Government of Quebec. Further, bilingual Anglophones and those between the ages of 18 and 24, expressed particularly high levels of interest in employment in either the federal or provincial public service.

B. Social Distance

Increased marriage between Quebec Anglophones and Francophones is a function of rising social contacts between language groups. Therefore, it is increasingly difficult to talk about two solitudes when describing the relationship between Anglophone and Francophone Quebecers. In 2000, more than half of Quebec Francophones reported having frequent and/or occasional contact with Anglophones. The region in which one resides is by far the most important factor contributing to the degree of interaction between members of the two groups. On the Island of Montréal, nearly one-half of the Francophone population reported having frequent contact with Anglophones, and the same percentage indicated that they had close friends who were Anglophone. On a regional basis, there was some variation on this question with as many as 60 percent of respondents on the Island of Montréal reporting close friendships with Anglophones.

Other survey-based evidence supports the notion that relations between Quebec Anglophones and Francophones have improved over the course of the 1990s. When asked about the state of relations with Anglophones, 83 percent of Francophone respondents described them as either good or very good (6 percent described them as bad or very bad). In the western part of Montréal, 95 percent viewed the relationship positively. When asked whether the relationship has improved over the past ten years, 44 percent said it had (67 percent in the western part of Montréal, 52 percent in the centre and 37 percent in the east). Overall, some 43 percent felt that the relationship remained unchanged, while 6 percent said it had deteriorated.

According to a SOM/La Presse/Radio-Canada survey (2001), 80 percent of Anglophones say that they have made efforts to reach out to the Francophone population. When asked whether the relationship between Francophones and Anglophones was more positive now than ten years earlier, some seven out of ten Anglophones agreed. When asked to make the comparison between now and five years ago, some 40 percent described the attitude of the Francophone community towards the Anglophone community as more positive and another 40 percent as neutral. In urban areas, Anglophones were more inclined to say the change was more positive (42 percent) than were their regional counterparts (27 percent).

When exploring issues of social distance and the extent to which communities believe the relationship is improving, it is critical to consider the context in which the question is asked. It is widely acknowledged that the past 40 years in Quebec have been characterized by intense debates over language and identity. Undoubtedly, the 1995 Quebec referendum put more focus on the relationship between Quebec’s language communities. In short, the state of the relationship can fluctuate according to the political climate of the day.

Clearly, more than ever, Anglophones are able to speak French, and uses that language more frequently in the workplace and in a variety of economic activities. To date, little research has been done on the extent to which the increased knowledge of French and increased contact with Francophones has a bearing on the attitudes of Anglophones around the main social and political questions confronting the society. The reduction in social distance described here has not given rise to increasing consumption of French-language media and cultural products by Quebec Anglophones, despite the increased interaction with Francophones and growing bilingualism.

While intergroup relations have improved, there persists important divergence in perceptions of linguistic and cultural concerns between Quebec Anglophones and Francophones. Among them are differences in the extent to which members of the two communities view the threat to their respective language communities. In effect, 61 percent of Francophone respondents believe that the future of the French language in Quebec is threatened. Such perceptions are held to a somewhat greater degree by those who speak French only than by Francophones who are able to conduct a conversation in English. For their part, about 78 percent of Quebec Anglophone respondents disagreed with the statement that the future of the French language in Quebec is threatened (nearly two-thirds strongly disagreed). Neither the age of the Anglophone respondents nor their ability to speak French much affected the extent to which they thought the French language is threatened.

When asked whether they thought the future of the English-speaking community in their region was threatened, 66 percent of the Anglophone respondents agreed (36 percent agreed totally and 30 percent agreed somewhat). Only 14 percent of Francophones agreed with the statement that the English-speaking community is threatened in their region, and there is little variation in such attitudes in the regions of the province.

Even though the majority of Anglophones did not believe that the French language is threatened, 51 percent agreed with the statement that it is important for the government of Quebec to maintain laws to protect French, while some 48 percent disagreed with this view. For their part, Quebec Francophones supported a number of concerns expressed by Quebec Anglophones, such as the right to health and social services in the English language. Also, twice as many Francophone Quebecers agreed than disagreed that the Government of Canada should support the development of the Anglophone community in their province (18 percent disagreed, 46 percent were neutral and 36 percent agreed).



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - 9. Préoccupations et priorités des anglophones

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 13 de 16

Résumé :

La santé et les services sociaux viennent au premier rang chez les anglophones pour ce qui est de l’importance pour la communauté, la question de l’égalité des droits étant mentionnée le plus souvent. La représentation des anglophones du Québec dans la fonction publique provinciale alimente dans la communauté un fort sentiment d’être écarté du pouvoir. La majorité des anglophones ne pensent pas qu’ils ont les mêmes chances d’obtenir un emploi au gouvernement. Tant le gouvernement fédéral que le gouvernement provincial reconnaissent cette situation et ajoutent que des efforts sont faits pour recruter et retenir davantage d’anglophones.

Les relations entre les francophones et les anglophones du Québec se sont améliorées dans les années 1990. L’amitié et les mariages entre membres des deux principales communautés linguistiques sont à la hausse. Pourtant, des différences notables persistent dans la mesure où les francophones et les anglophones estiment respectivement que l’avenir de leur communauté est menacé.


La question de savoir si le leadership réussit à faire valoir les besoins de la communauté est liée à ce que le groupe considère comme ses principaux intérêts et ses principales priorités. Les questions que les communautés jugent importantes évolueront en fonction de la conjoncture sociale, économique et politique. Durant une campagne référendaire, l’unité nationale pourrait être considérée comme la priorité pour la très grande majorité des anglophones du Québec. Donc, le moment où les préoccupations de la population sont évaluées constitue une considération importante. Divers acteurs gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux peuvent jouer un rôle crucial dans des besoins de la population et la détermination des priorités. Un leadership efficace doit montrer qu’il peut s’adapter à l’évolution des préoccupations de ses mandants. La façon dont le leadership organisationnel définit ses mandants est aussi liée à cette question.

Il a été amplement démontré que les changements démographiques avaient eu une grande incidence sur les structures et les institutions de la population anglophone. Faute de recherches sur les préoccupations et les priorités historiques des anglophones, il est plus difficile de déterminer si les tendances décrites ici ont eu une influence dans ce domaine. Sur quels points les divergences d’opinion observées chez les anglophones sont-elles le plus prononcées? Ce sont des questions débattues abondamment au fil des ans tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur de la communauté anglophone du Québec.

Pour tenter de comprendre comment les anglophones du Québec hiérarchisent leurs préoccupations, le sondage CROP-Missisquoi a demandé aux répondants d’évaluer le degré d’importance de diverses questions pour la communauté anglophone et d’indiquer ensuite quelle était la question qui revêtait le plus d’importance pour elle. Il y a une relation manifeste entre les deux, comme l’illustrent les thèmes évoqués de façon répétée par les anglophones du Québec. Toutefois, la distinction nous permet de comprendre à quel point les préoccupations sont vives et à quel point certaines questions sont une source de mobilisation. Les questions liées à la santé et aux services sociaux ont été classées comme extrêmement ou très importantes par le plus gros pourcentage de répondants anglophones. Pourtant, la santé et les services sociaux n’étaient pas considérés comme la question la plus importante pour la communauté anglophone. En général, les questions sociales ou ce qu’on pourrait décrire comme des besoins plus immédiats sont venues au premier rang quand les anglophones ont été priés d’évaluer l’importance des questions. En ce qui concerne la question la plus importante, toutefois, les questions liées à la politique ou à l’identité semblent venir à l’esprit le plus souvent.

Tableau 22 – Réponses « extrêmement important » ou « très important » concernant l’importance d’enjeux linguistiques particuliers, selon certains groupes démographiques au sein de la population anglophone du Québec
  Santé et services sociaux (%) Accès aux services gouvernementaux (%) Langue d'affichage (%) Décroissance de la communauté anglophone (%)
Total 80 70 54 51
18-24 ans 81 73 49 46
65 ans ou plus 79 66 59 57
Conversation en français – oui 85 76 57 61
Pas de français 81 67 57 57
Pas d’études secondaires 77 61 62 54
Diplôme universitaire 89 77 53 62
Homme 82 71 53 56
Femme 86 76 60 62
Source : CROP-Missisquoi Institute, Survey of the English-Speaking Community of Quebec [sondage CROP-Missisquoi sur la communauté anglophone du Québec], 2000.

Étant donné que 54 p. 100 des anglophones estiment que la langue d’affichage est une question importante, elle se classe loin derrière la santé et les services sociaux. Aucune question ne ressort comme la plus importante pour une majorité d’anglophones du Québec. Toutefois, la majorité estime que l’égalité des droits est le problème le plus important pour leur communauté. Il n’y a pas de grande divergence d’opinion selon l’âge, le sexe, l’éducation ou le bilinguisme.

A. Inclusion et tenue à l’écart du pouvoir

La présence de membres d’un groupe dans les organes décisionnels et les institutions des gouvernements est une question vitale pour les groupes minoritaires. Tant le gouvernement fédéral que le gouvernement provincial du Québec ont reconnu la nécessité d’aborder la question de la représentation des anglophones du Québec dans leurs fonctions publiques respectives. Pour sa part, le gouvernement du Québec a produit une série de rapports dans les années 1990 qui déplorent qu’on n’ait pas réussi à accroître la représentation insuffisante des anglophones dans la fonction publique de la province. Malgré les dispositions de la Charte des droits du Québec qui rend obligatoires les programmes d’équité en matière d’emploi pour les groupes minoritaires dans la fonction publique et malgré les quotas d’embauchage, la part de la fonction publique du Québec représentée par les anglophones de langue maternelle a été, en 2002, ramenée de 485 employés, ou 0,83 p. 100, à 394 employés, ou 0,7 p. 100, sur 57 468 employés (gouvernement du Québec, Conseil du Trésor, mars 2002).

Selon le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du gouvernement du Canada, en mars 2003, les anglophones composaient 72 p. 100 des employés de la fonction publique, et les francophones, 27 p. 100. Leurs parts correspondantes de la population canadienne étaient de 75 et 24 p. 100 respectivement. À l’extérieur de la région de la capitale nationale, les anglophones représentent 14,5 p. 100 de tous les employés fédéraux au Québec, tandis qu’ils forment 12,9 p. 100 de la population du Québec. Les fonctionnaires fédéraux anglophones travaillant au sein de ministères représentent 7,6 p. 100 (à l’exclusion de la région de la capitale nationale). Le Conseil du Trésor reconnaît cette situation et ajoute que des efforts sont faits pour recruter et retenir davantage d’anglophones.

Malgré l’absence d’étude systématique sur les nominations d’anglophones du Québec dans les organismes et les conseils du gouvernement fédéral et du gouvernement provincial, tout examen de la liste de ces nominations au gouvernement du Québec depuis 20 ans illustrera la rareté relative de ces nominations. La faible mise à contribution des anglophones dans les décisions gouvernementales est un facteur important du sentiment d’être tenu à l’écart du pouvoir.

Les efforts visant à accroître la représentation des anglophones dans la fonction publique provinciale doivent tenir compte du nombre important d’anglophones qui croient qu’il n’ont pas le même accès à ces postes. Parmi les groupes démographiques, il y a une part importante des anglophones qui estiment que le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement provincial ne donnent pas les mêmes possibilités d’emploi. Dans l’ensemble, environ 54 p. 100 des anglophones interrogés en 2000 (CROP-Missisquoi, 2000) pensent qu’au Québec le gouvernement du Canada ne donne pas aux anglophones le même accès aux emplois et environ 70 p. 100 pensent que la même iniquité existe au gouvernement du Québec. Cette impression de discrimination est plus forte chez les anglophones qui ont des diplômes universitaires ou qui travaillent à temps plein.

Les anglophones du Québec ne boudent pas le travail dans la fonction publique. Le sondage révèle que, si l’intérêt dans ces possibilités est plus grand au fédéral qu’au provincial, il demeure raisonnablement élevé pour les deux ordres de gouvernement. Près de la moitié des répondants ont dit qu’ils ont déjà été ou qu’ils seraient intéressés à chercher un emploi au gouvernement du Canada et 40 p. 100 ont exprimé le même intérêt à l’égard d’un emploi au gouvernement du Québec. De plus, les anglophones bilingues et les anglophones âgés de 18 à 24 ans expriment des niveaux d’intérêt particulièrement élevés pour la fonction publique tant fédérale que provinciale.

B. Distance sociale

L’accroissement du nombre de mariages entre anglophones et francophones du Québec est fonction de l’augmentation des contacts sociaux entre les groupes linguistiques. Par conséquent, il est de plus en plus difficile de parler de deux solitudes lorsqu’on décrit la relation entre les Québécois anglophones et les Québécois francophones. En 2000, plus de la moitié des francophones du Québec ont déclaré avoir des contacts fréquents ou occasionnels avec des anglophones. La région de résidence est de loin le facteur le plus important qui détermine le degré d’interaction entre les membres des deux groupes. Dans l’île de Montréal, presque la moitié de la population francophone a déclaré avoir des contacts fréquents avec des anglophones et le même pourcentage a indiqué avoir des amis proches qui étaient anglophones. Sur une base régionale, on observe de légères variations sur cette question, jusqu’à 60 p. 100 des répondants qui habitent dans l’île de Montréal déclarant avoir des amis proches parmi les anglophones.

D’autres données d’enquête vont dans le sens que les relations entre les francophones et les anglophones du Québec se sont améliorées au cours des années 1990. Interrogés au sujet de l’état des relations avec les anglophones, 83 p. 100 des répondants francophones les ont décrites comme bonnes ou très bonnes (contre 6 p. 100 qui les ont décrites comme mauvaises ou très mauvaises). Dans l’ouest de Montréal, 95 p. 100 considéraient ces relations de façon positive. Priés d’indiquer si les relations s’étaient améliorées depuis 10 ans, 44 p. 100 ont dit oui (67 p. 100 dans l’ouest de Montréal; 52 p. 100 au centre; 37 p. 100 dans l’est). Dans l’ensemble, environ 43 p. 100 estimaient que les relations étaient restées les mêmes et 6 p. 100, qu’elles s’étaient détériorées.

Selon un sondage SOM/La Presse/Radio-Canada (2001), 80 p. 100 des anglophones disent avoir tenté de se rapprocher de la population francophone. Priés d’indiquer si les relations entre les francophones et les anglophones étaient plus positives que 10 ans plus tôt, sept anglophones sur dix étaient d’accord. À la question d’indiquer comment, comparativement à cinq ans plus tôt, l’attitude de la communauté francophone à l’égard de la communauté anglophone avait changé dans leur région, quelque 40 p. 100 ont décrit l’attitude de la communauté francophone à l’égard de la communauté anglophone comme plus positive, et 40 p. 100, comme neutre. Dans les régions urbaines, les anglophones étaient plus enclins à dire que le changement était plus positif (42 p. 100) que leurs homologues des régions (27 p. 100).

En ce qui concerne les questions de la distance sociale et de la mesure dans laquelle les communautés estiment que les relations s’améliorent, il est essentiel de tenir compte du contexte dans lequel la question est posée. Il est largement reconnu que des débats intenses sur la langue et l’identité ont marqué les 40 dernières années au Québec. Il ne fait aucun doute que le référendum de 1995 au Québec a mis davantage l’accent sur les relations entre les communautés linguistiques du Québec. Pour résumer, l’état de ces relations peut fluctuer selon le climat politique qui règne.

Manifestement, plus que jamais, les anglophones sont capables de parler français et utilisent cette langue plus souvent en milieu de travail et dans diverses activités économiques. Jusqu’ici, peu de recherches ont été faites sur la mesure dans laquelle la connaissance accrue du français et l’intensification des contacts avec les francophones ont une incidence sur l’attitude des anglophones à l’égard des grandes questions politiques et sociales qui se posent à la société. La réduction de la distance sociale décrite ici n’a pas donné lieu à une augmentation de la consommation de produits culturels et médiatiques français par les anglophones du Québec, malgré l’interaction accrue avec les francophones et l’accroissement du bilinguisme.

Les relations entre les groupes se sont améliorées, mais des divergences importantes persistent entre les francophones et les anglophones du Québec en ce qui a trait aux préoccupations culturelles et linguistiques de chaque groupe. Parmi ces préoccupations, mentionnons les différences dans le degré auquel les personnes des deux communautés considèrent que leurs communautés linguistiques respectives sont menacées. En effet, 61 p. 100 des répondants francophones estiment que l’avenir du français au Québec est menacé. Ceux qui parlent français seulement par opposition à ceux qui peuvent soutenir une conversation en anglais ont cette perception à un degré plus grand. Pour leur part, environ 78 p. 100 des répondants anglophones au Québec n’étaient pas d’accord avec l’énoncé selon lequel l’avenir du français est menacé au Québec (près des deux tiers étaient très en désaccord). Ni l’âge des répondants ni leur capacité de parler français n’avaient beaucoup influencé la mesure dans laquelle ils pensaient que le français est menacé.

En réponse à la question de savoir s’ils pensaient que l’avenir de la communauté anglophone de leur région était menacé, 66 p. 100 des répondants anglophones étaient d’accord (36 p. 100 étaient tout à fait d’accord et 30 p. 100, plutôt d’accord). Seulement 14 p. 100 des francophones étaient d’accord avec l’énoncé selon lequel la communauté anglophone est menacée dans leur région et cette attitude varie peu d’une région de la province à une autre.

Même si la majorité des anglophones ne pensaient pas que le français est menacé, 51 p. 100 étaient d’accord avec l’énoncé selon lequel il est important pour le gouvernement du Québec de maintenir les lois qui protègent le français, tandis que 48 p. 100 n’étaient pas d’accord. Quant à eux, les francophones du Québec étaient d’accord avec un certain nombre de préoccupations des anglophones du Québec, par exemple le droit à la santé et aux services sociaux en anglais. De même, par rapport à l’énoncé voulant que le gouvernement du Canada soutienne le développement de la communauté anglophone dans leur province, les Québécois francophones étaient deux fois plus susceptibles d’être d’accord qu’en désaccord (18 p. 100 étaient en désaccord; 46 p. 100 étaient neutres; 36 p. 100 étaient d’accord).



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante